• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Soy Y Sere - Luis Enrique

Titel : Soy Y Sere

Artiest(en) : Luis Enrique

Genre : Salsa

Medium : CD

Jaar : 2011

Label : TopStop

€ 15,90


De 2011 opvolger van z`n zeer succesvolle Ciclos album (met "Yo No Se Manana"), wederom in een spetterende produktie van Sergio George.
Luis Enrique has been a staple of the salsa set for a long time, and he keeps putting out fantastic albums. The last several albums have shown him to have renewed, and if possible, amped up energy. I was a little nervous, wondering if he could match the excitement that he generated with Ciclos. Ciclos won a Latin Grammy, and went on to thumb its nose at his previous record company, who dropped him before it came out. Anyway, as refreshing as Ciclos was, I think that this one is a little better. Enrique`s band is so tight--the percussion is fresh and sharp, he weaves in the classic salsa and tropical beats and chord progressions with really tuneful singing (sometimes left behind by some in the quest for a hot beat), sweet and romantic lyrics, and smokin` hot horns. He takes a stab at more mainstream pop with "Yo no se Manana", and it works.
1. Locos Los 2
2. Al Fin
3. Dame De Tu Boca
4. Descontrolame
5. Deseos
6. El Reto
7. Ave Sin Alas
8. Sabes (duet with Prince Royce)
9. Lo Que Fui Soy Y Sere
10. Una Fotografia
11. Yo No Se Manana (Pop Version)
“Soy y Seré” is the 18th recording of veteran Nicaraguan singer Luis Enrique. After the huge success of Luis Enrique’s 2009 comeback album “Ciclos”, “Soy y Seré” was the widely anticipated follow-up. “El Principe” of the “Salsa Romantica” released a romantic album that leans more towards Latin pop.
The contrast between the two albums is immediately apparent from the very 1st song “Locos Los Dos”, which is a great song to lead off the album as it sets the tempo for the rest of the recording. Luis Enrique was the Prince of the “Salsa Romantica” movement of the 90’s. Using romantic themes as its base, Luis Enrique continued to experiment and evolve his musical style, always pulling towards Latin pop but maintaining his Afro-Caribbean rhythm roots. I call the recent result of this evolution “Tropical Pop”.
For the 2011 release “Soy y Seré”, Luis Enrique invited “bachata” singer Prince Royce and Latin pop singer Alex Cuba to perform duets with him. He also had Sergio George as Producer for record label Top Stop Music, a division of Sony Music.
As a Salsa fan, my first reaction was that this album lacked the Salsa beat “Ciclos” had. But if you realize that Luis Enrique is evolving his style of music by continuing to experiment with a mix of Salsa with Latin pop, then you start to appreciate the creativity that went into this album. Soy y Seré’s 1st single “Dame De Tu Boca” has a more dynamic and aggressive tropical tempo, that makes you want to move your feet, although you may not know exactly how. It almost seems like a Bomba-Rock rhythm. “Locos Los Dos” also has rock elements mixed with tropical rhythms on a truly crazy love song.
Songs like “El Reto” and “Al Fin” have the essence of the Luis Enrique of the “San Juan Sin Ti” era. Same goes for “Una Fotografia” which uses a bomba rhythm as its base.
My favorites for the album are the title song, “Lo Que Fui Soy y Seré”, mostly for the message of its lyrics based on a tropical dynamic rhythm, and “Al Fin”, which keeps the Sergio George stamp we got to know with Marc Anthony and in Luis Enrique’s “Ciclos”.
The music in the album is of top quality, with elaborate arrangements which display great creative genius. The music in the album is not your typical “cookie-cutter” “Salsa Romantica” formula. Each arrangement is tailored-made for the song and message, which keeps the music fresh as you listen through the album. The sound quality in the recording is outstanding.
The vocal execution Luis Enrique continues to deliver with excellence. The guest appearances of Latin pop rising star Alex Cuba in “Deseos” and of “bachata” sensation Prince Royce in “Sabes” add to the quality of the production. Both duets are very well done, with good taste on how and when to mix the voices during the songs.
From the musician’s side, there are no notable standouts. The music holistically is the centerpiece of the album, without the intent to highlight any of the excellent musicians that participate in it. (review by Latino Music Cafe)