• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Salsa Big Band - Ruben Blades

Titel : Salsa Big Band

Artiest(en) : Ruben Blades

Genre : Salsa

Medium : CD

Jaar : 05-2017

Label : Ruben Blades

€ 18,90


Op de 2017 release "Salsa Big Band" horen we Rubén Blades met het Roberto Delgado Orquesta, dat doet denken aan Rubén`s werk met het Spanish Harlem Orchestra. Deze CD is het vervolg op het succesvolle Son De Panamá uit 2015, welke werd bekroond met een Latin Grammy in de catagorie Best Salsa Album. Superstrak, swingende big band salsa! En bij afgelopen Latin Grammy awards uitreiking op 16 nov 2017 j.l. viel ook dit album in de prijzen in de categorie "Album Of The Year".
In juli 2018 speelt Rubén Blades samen met het Roberto Delgado Orquesta op het North Sea Jazz festival in Rotterdam, Holland.
The collaboration of Ruben Blades and Roberto Delgado continues on their new 2017 bold and powerful recording, Salsa Big Band.
Trying to recreate the big bands sound of Machito/Mario Bauzá, Tito Rodríguez, Willie Rosario, Tito Puente and others - it`s not easy. But Ruben and Roberto have found the timely balance of nostalgia and the present. "Arayué" (first recorded by Ray Barretto in 1980 on Giant Force with Ray De La Paz on vocals - thanks Ray Rosado), has the horn section swinging hard. In 1977 Roberto Roena y su Apollo Sound with Papo Sánchez recorded "Nadie sabe", (also written by Ruben) and 40 years later Mr. Blades records his own version at a slower pace, but just as outstanding.
He also delves into his own recordings. "La marea", from the 1988 wonderful album Antecedente, "Claro oscuro" from 1987 Agua de luna and "Lo pasado no perdona", from 1983 El que la hace la paga all get a viagra treatment, and in the process remind us of what a great composer the salsa poet was/is!
And while some numbers show a decline in his vocals (the man is 68 years old), his vision as an artist pushes him to try new sounds. Excellent recording! (review by SalsaPower)
1- Arayué (4:48)
2- Apóyate en mi alma (5:32)
3- Nadie sabe (4:58)
4- Claro oscuro (4:31)
5- El pasado no perdona (6:22)
6- La marea (3:07)
7- El pescador (5:13)
8- Antadilla (4:06)
9- Adónde? (3:14)
10- No te importa saber (3:30)
11- Como un huracán (5:02)