• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Mighty Mongo - Mongo Santamaria

Titel : Mighty Mongo

Artiest(en) : Mongo Santamaria

Genre : Salsa, Latin-jazz

Medium : CD

Jaar : 02-2019

Label : Malanga

€ 13,90


2 Original albums on 1 CD, includes 2 bonus tracks. 78 minutes playing time.
This release presents two complete original Mongo Santamaría LPs, Mighty Mongo (Fantasy BF-8351) and its companion ¡Viva Mongo! (Fantasy F-8087). The Santamaría band of the period included a who’s who of important Latin Jazz artists, including such renowned musicians as tenor saxophonist José “Chombo” Silva, violinist Félix “Pupi” Legarreta, percussionist Willie Bobo, and Brazilian pianist and trombonist Joao Donato. Two tracks originally issued as a 45 rpm single on the Battle label, including the hit “Watermelon Man”, have been added as a bonus.
1. Bluchanga
2. Tenderly
3. Descarga at the Blackhawk
4. Bacoso
5. Sabor
6. All the Things You Are
7. Pachanga Twist
8. Las Guajiras
9. Para ti
10. Body and Soul
11. Merengue changa
12. Dulce sueño
13. Mambo terrífi co
14. Close Your Eyes
15. Don’t Bother Me
16. Watermelon Man
1-6]: Mighty Mongo
7-14]: Viva Mongo!
Recorded live at the Blackhawk, San Francisco, 1962.
[15-16] BONUS TRACK:
Los Angeles, December 17, 1962.
MONGO SANTAMARÍA, conga drums & bongos:
JOSÉ “CHOMBO” SILVA, tenor sax & violin
PAT PATRICK, baritone sax
JOÃO DONATO, piano & trombone
WILLIE BOBO, timbales
RUDY CALZADO, lead vocals
among others.