• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Mambo Birdland - Tito Puente

Titel : Mambo Birdland

Artiest(en) : Tito Puente

Genre : Salsa, Latin-jazz

Medium : CD

Jaar : 1999

Label : RMM

€ 12,00


Tito`s laatste solo opname is een geïnspireerd live album op deze RMM CD, reïssue uit 1999 .
Tito Puente`s final album finds the great bandleader-percussionist taking a young audience into the past with an in-concert set of classics including the title track, "Ban Ban Quere," and, of course, "Oye Como Va." The energy never wanes as Puente visits his many styles ("Cha Cha Cha Mambo," for one) and tempos. Particularly hot is the percussive breakdown on "Guaguanco Margarito," which is both smashing and subtle in the way of only the very finest jazz. "I`m gettin` to ya!" the ebullient Mambo King exclaims more than once between songs; he sounds as if he were just as pleased as in the midcentury years he spent inventing this music. Mambo Birdland won a 2000 Grammy (for Best Traditional Tropical Latin Performance), Puente`s fifth.
Each track is definitely upbeat and pure Latino jazz (Tito was known for loathing the term "salsa" to describe this great genre of music), graced with great vocals by Frankie Morales and a spectacular Latin jazz orchestra. Tito combines many traditional rhythms and beats like the cha-cha ("Cha-Cha-Cha Mambo"), cumbia, mambo, and more. His back-up orchestra is also absolutely incredible, each piece of brass is distinguishing and impeccable in their playing.
1. Mambo Birdland (6:48)
2. Juventud Del Presente (6:06)
3. Ban Ban Quere (6:04)
4. Como Esta Miguel (6:10)
5. Cha Cha Cha Con Mambo (9:44)
6. Guaguanco Margarito (7:58)
7. Mi Mamita (6:57)
8. Mambo Gozon (5:34)
9. Oye Mi Guaganco (8:21)
10. Ran Kan Kan (7:05)
11. Oye Como Va (5:54)

This Tito Puente second "Recorded Live @ Birdland", takes us back to the Mambo Era, laying it down like no one else can. This CD is truly a Dancer`s Delight. Edited in 1999. A bailar!