• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Grupo X - Songs From Our Latin Soul

Titel : Grupo X

Artiest(en) : Songs From Our Latin Soul

Genre : Salsa

Medium : CD

Jaar : 08-2016

Label : Loft Recordings

€ 15,00


"Songs From Our Latin Soul" is een verzamel CD van de latin soul band GRUPO X uit London, U.K. met een geluid dat doet denken aan Alex Wilson`s "Salsa Con Soul"
Formed in London in 1997, by trombonist / composer/ arranger, Jonny Enright, Grupo X`s music is influenced by the `60s and `70s New York Latin sound, where Afro-Cuban music added elements of soul and jazz to the mix that would eventually evolve into this thing called salsa. They have their own original and unique UK blend of Latin jazz and soul.
Grupo X have to date released 4 albums: X-Posure (2001), Food For Your Latin Soul (2006), Grupo X Remixed (2008) and As Hills Go By (2011). More info about releases here.
Grupo X`s music is all self-composed and arranged from within the band, an ensemble made up of some of the finest jazz, soul and Latin musicians and session players in London. Since day one, they have been proud to feature the stunning, soulful vocals of Lisa Millett, whose career has covered house, soul, funk and jazz.
Grupo X full line up: Lisa Millett (ATFC/ Defected) on vocals, Al MacSween - piano (Ruby Turner/ Courtney Pine), Simon Edwards - bass (Fairground Attraction/ Talk Talk), Jim Le Messurier - drums (Penya/ Tito Allen), Pete Eckford - percussion (Chaz Jankel/ Leroy Hutson), Dave Pattman - percussion (Paul McCartney/ Cubanismo), Olly Drew - guitar (Freeloader/ MyVoxSongs), Finn Peters - flute, saxes (Mulatu Astatke/ Candi Staton), Sean Corby - trumpet, flugel (Jazz Jamaica/ Kobo Town) and band leader Jonny Enright - trombone, piano/keyboards (Gregory Isaacs / Elbow).
1. Brand New Love
2. Share It Out
3. Get Through To You (2015 Mix)
4. This Must Be The Place
5. Sunshine
6. Waiting
7. X-Perenience
8. Won`t You Stay?
9. Mi Tumbao
10. Whatever You Dream (You Can Begin)
11. Reach
12. Jonny`s Bugalu
Celebrating Grupo X`s acclaimed output from the last 15 years, the album brings together a mix of hip-swaying, foot stomping, sun-kissed Latin and soul, with soaring vocals, driving percussion, heavy horns, tight arrangements and virtuoso performances all round.
Remastered dance floor fillers, such as Brand New Love, X-Perience and Reach, combine with chilled, head-nodding grooves, including Jonny`s Bugalu, Get Through To You and Won`t You Stay. Also included are two brand new tracks featuring Lisa Millett - the Latin R&B stomper Share it Out plus the soulful, salsa-tinged Waiting. Additional lead vocals are provided by the outstanding talents of jazz singer Julie Dexter and Venezuelan salsa star Carlos Peña