• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Raiz - Septeto Santiaguero

Titel : Raiz

Artiest(en) : Septeto Santiaguero

Genre : Cuba

Medium : CD

Jaar : 09-2017

Label : Los Canarios

€ 16,90


After the big succes of Septeto Santiguero`s double CD with Jose Alberto "El Canario" as a tribute to Los Compadres (2015), here`s their brand new 2017 recording "Raïz", again released on Jose Alberto`s Los Canarios label..
On this recording, the Septeto pays homage to a variety of composers. Arsenio Rodríguez "No he visto a Caridad" with Inocencio "Chencho" Heredia on vocals and Fernando Dewar on Tres is a highlight. "Mosaico #1" showcases Adalberto Álvarez`s writing skills and perhaps Cuba`s most influential composer of the modern era. The bass solo and Flugelhorn by Dairon Robert and Alaín Dragoni respectively, are to die for. The party continues with the swinging "La meneadera" from Ignacio Piñeiro. The conga solo by Gabriel "La Historia" Montero demostrates that it is not about speed but feeling.
Every Santiaguero recording has some great guests and "Raíz", is no exception. Former Gran Combo singer Charlie Aponte, brings his Boricua guapería to Pepe Sanchez`s "Cristinita". Ruben Leliebre on flute and the Latino Jimi Hendrix on violin Alfredo de La Fe, are inspired on the Charanga format "Si tu te vas". Arturo O`Farill mesmerizes with his piano touches on "Cuando suene el cornetín" by Mariano Mercerón. Jazz trumpeter Nicholas Payton shines on Pablo Milanes`, "Ya se va aquella edad". And if you are wondering, yes he was on clave! Medoro Madera, Ruben Blades` alter ego shows up on the Miguel Matamoros classic, "Lágrimas negras" (apparaently the producers were not happy with the sound of the version on 2012 "Vamos pa la fiesta" and decided to re-record it.).
Once again Septeto Santiaguero has found a way to make old tunes sound fresh and vibrant. It is also a testament to the hard work that producers Alden González, Fernando Dewar and Geovanis Alcántara have done in finding the right material, guests and arrangements. A classic! (review Salsapower)
1. No he visto a Caridad (5:05)
2. Cristinita (feat. Charlie Aponte) (5:01)
3. La fiesta no es para Feos (5:01)
4. La canción de la Trova (3:03)
5. Si tu te vas (feat. Alfredo de la Fé) (6:18)
6. Mosaico #1 - El son de Adalberto, Tal vez vuelvas a llamarme, Pura imagen (4:05)
7. La Meneadera (5:16)
8. Raíz (1:36)
9. La rumba está buena, Changüí clave (6:43)
10. Cuando canta el cornetín (feat Arturo O’Farrill) (5:30)
11. Retorna lo que es un Beso (4:05)
12. Échale tierra y tápalo (3:24)
13. Lágrimas negras (feat. Ruben Blades & Meodoro Madera) (5:35)
14. Ya se va aquella edad (feat Nicholas Payton) (3:42)
15. Bonus track - La fiesta no es para feos (con El Médico)
16. Bonus track - En falso (con Reinaldo Creagh) (3:33)