• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Latin Soul - Poncho Sanchez

Titel : Latin Soul

Artiest(en) : Poncho Sanchez

Genre : Latin-jazz

Medium : CD

Jaar : 1999

Label : Concord

€ 17,99


Een van de beste live salsa/latin-jazz recordings ooit gemaakt is het live album LATIN SOUL uit 1999 van meester conguero/bandleider Poncho Sanchez
Recorded live at two leading California nightspots, Yoshi`s in Oakland and the Latin-specializing Conga Room in Los Angeles, Concord no doubt hoped for an exceptionally hot live session from this tireless defender of the Latin jazz tradition with hot, listenable, danceable Latin fire. Sanchez leads his usual eight-piece ensemble -- augmented at Yoshi`s by Mike Whitman on baritone sax -- and feeds the percussive polyrhythmic battles with his congas (as well as a turn on the timbales on "Guaripumpe"). On the "Latin soul" agenda, there is a dead-on faithful rendition of "Watermelon Man," with a few histrionic things at the close, and a reprise of Eddie Harris` "Cold Duck Time," which soon turns into "Listen Here" and "Everything I Play Gonh Be Funky." There are also some spirited passings of the bop baton from trumpeter Sal Cracchiolo to trombonist Francisco Torres to tenor saxophonist Scott Martin and back again on "Ican." It`s OK, one of Sanchez` best. (All Music Guide)
1. El Conguero
2. Ven Pa Bailar
3. Ican
4. Watermelon Man
5. Conga Blue
6. Lisa
7. Besame Mama
8. Guaripumpe
9. Listen Here / Cold Duck Time
10. Mama Guela