• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Cuba: Conversation Continues - Arturo O`Farrill

Titel : Cuba: Conversation Continues

Artiest(en) : Arturo O`Farrill

Genre : Latin-jazz

Medium : Dubbel CD

Jaar : 2015

Label : Motema

€ 10,00


Ambitieuze dubbel CD van bandleider Arturo O`Farrill (zoon van Chico) opgenomen december 2014 in Havana, Cuba.
Latin Grammy Award voor Best Latin Jazz Album 2015.
Cuba: The Conversation Continues was already conceived as an ambitious dream come true for bandleader Arturo O`Farrill when a synchronous event occurred in history. The night after his band had performed at the U.S. Interest Section in Havana, Barack Obama announced the normalization of diplomatic relations with the island nation after more than 50 years. This double-length set was conceived as a way of furthering the musical and cultural conversation begun by Dizzy Gillespie and Chano Pozo in the 1940s. It features compositions by six American and four Cuban composers, played by 24 musicians. There are 21 producers, five videographers, and two photographers. Among the composers are the bandleader, Michele Rosewoman, Michel Herrera, Juan de la Cruz Antomarchi ("Coto"), and Dafnis Prieto. The first disc offers O`Farrill`s four-movement "Afro Latin Jazz Suite," in tribute to his father`s "Afro Cuban Jazz Suite" that featured soloist Charlie Parker. This one offers saxophonist Rudresh Mahanthappa in the premier role, and he doesn`t disappoint as he moves through angular post-bop and salsa, African highlife, and progressive jazz. The third movement, "Adagio," is a lilting cha cha. Rosewoman`s "Alabanza" is a gorgeous exercise in orchestral textures and rhythms (with the composer as a soloist) that inexorably connects Yoruban and Latin folk forms to post-bop articulations. On disc two, Herrera`s "Just One Moment" is a grooving exercise in color and swing, while Coto`s "El Bombom" is a driving, big band changüí with the man himself on tres and vocals. There are also wonderful solos from bassist Gregg August and trumpeter John Bailey. Earl McIntyre`s "Second Line Soca (Brudda`s Singh)," with vocalist Renee Manning, seamlessly melds Havana`s drum chants and son-styled montunos with New Orleans jazz, funk, and Caribbean tropical grooves. O`Farrill has been on a creative tear over the last five years; Cuba: The Conversation Continues extends it with an inspired -- and perhaps career-defining -- album.
1. The Triumphant Journey (6:04)
2. Afro Latin Jazz Suite - Movement I: Mother Africa (9:47)
3. Afro Latin Jazz Suite - Movement II: All Of The Americas (6:11)
4. Afro Latin Jazz Suite - Movement III: Adagio (1:33)
5. Afro Latin Jazz Suite - Movement IV: What Now? (4:13)
6. Guajira Simple (9:29)
7. Alabanza (9:46)
8. Blues Guaguanco (6:02)
1. Vaca Frita (8:34)
2. Just One Moment (3:08)
3. El Bombon (7:09)
4. Second Line Soca (Brudda Singh) (6:18)
5. There`s a Statue of Jose Marti in Central Park (13:08)
Arturo O’Farrill, who was born in 1960, needs no convincing on that point. His father, the brilliant composer-arranger Chico O’Farrill, was a prominent Cuban émigré, leaving Havana in 1948 for New York City, where he worked with Dizzy Gillespie and Machito, among others. (He died in 2001, at 79, without ever returning to his homeland.) The younger Mr. O’Farrill has extended his father’s legacy, notably as founder and artistic director of the Afro-Latin Jazz Alliance, a nonprofit arts and education organization whose most visible outlet is the Afro-Latin Jazz Orchestra, an acclaimed big band.