• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Antidote - Chick Corea Spanish Heart Band

Titel : Antidote

Artiest(en) : Chick Corea Spanish Heart Band

Genre : Latin-jazz

Medium : CD

Jaar : 07-2019

Label : Concord

€ 18,90


Chick Corea & the Spanish Heart Band - Antidote, 2019 latin jazz & flamenco album on Concord Jazz.
"My genetics are Italian, but my heart is Spanish. I grew up with that music. This new band is a mix of all the wonderful and various aspects of my love and lifetime experience with these rhythms that have been such a big part of my musical heritage.” – Chick Corea
Chick Corea has often presented jazz influenced by the music of Spain but never as direct and potent as this new, exciting album. He gathered some bright stars to light the way. Jorge Pardo on saxophones and flute is no stranger to flamenco jazz, having led his own group, colloborated with pianist Chano Dominguez, and worked with Paco de Lucía. Niño Josele [Juan José Heredia] is the flamenco guitarist, with equal jazz credits. The brass section has Steve Davis on trombones, and Michael Rodriquez, trumpet. Venezulean percussionist Lusito Quintero add to the rhythm of Marcus Gimore`s drums. Bass is played by Carliotos Del Puerto. And if including Spanish dancer NIno de los Reyes was still insufficient, Rubén Blades, Maria Bianca, and Gayle Moran Corea sing. Corea revisits several compositions with new arrangements for this ensemble, including My Spanish Heart, Zyryab, Duende, Armando`s Rhumba, and the Yellow Nimbus. Two tracks move away from Spain: Jobim`s Desafinado, performed hot instead in the usual relaxed and smooth manner, and Stravinsky`s Pas de Deux. The flamenco nuevo pioneered by Paco de Lucía that led to flamenco jazz fusion is ever present in spirit. Corea himself often recorded with Paco. Every piece shines, every arrangement is warm and wonderful. Our ears dance. Olé!
1: Antidote
2: Duende
3: The Yellow Nimbus – Part 1
4: The Yellow Nimbus – Part 2
5: Prelude to My Spanish Heart
6: My Spanish Heart
7: Armando’s Rhumba
8: Desafinado
9: Zyryab
10: Pas de Deux
11: Admiration
Chick Corea: piano and keyboards
Carlitos Del Puerto: contrabass
Marcus Gilmore: drums
Michael Rodriguez: trumpet
Steve Davis: trombone
Jorge Pardo: alto saxophone and flute
Luisito Quintero: percussion
Niño Josele: guitar
Rubén Blades: vocals (1, 6)
Gayle Moran Corea: vocals [vocal choir] (5, 6)
Maria Bianca: vocals (8)
Nino de los Reyes: dance3