• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Urbano - Elvis Crespo

Titel : Urbano

Artiest(en) : Elvis Crespo

Genre : Merengue

Medium : CD

Jaar : 2002

Label : Sony

€ 9,99


Urbano is het 2002 album van de Puerto-Ricaanse merengue zanger Elvis Crespo.
With his each one of his three previous records reaching number one on Billboard`s salsa chart, Elvis Crespo certainly had set a high standard of success for his 2002 release, Urbano. Leaving his pretty-boy look and youthful vocal approach behind him, Crespo both looks and sounds like an artist who has come into his own. Like fellow Puerto Rican artists Olga Tanon and Joseph Fonseca, Crespo has chosen the merengue rhythms native to the D.R. as his musical backdrop. The beefy, four-on-the-floor feel, filled out by the traditional horns and piano montuno is embellished by the urban influence hinted at in the title. Distorted rock guitar and electronic elements straight from the club add the extra dirt and funk necessary to set Crespo ahead of the pack. Where in some cases these elements would be unwelcome party crashers, they`re used effectively by producer/musical director Roberto Cora. Crespo`s vocal performances throughout are earnest and mature. His melodic sense and spare use of ornamentation make for a very digestible album. Elvis Crespo, like Tanon, is an artist who performs merengue, not a merengue artist. Urbano does honor to his successful past, and also offers promise for his bright future.
1. La Cerveza
2. A Medias
3. Bandida
4. Bailalo
5. Besame en la Boca
6. Ojos Negros
7. Que Se Repita
8. Para Mi
9. Oh la La
10. Amarte Asi
11. Poco a Poco
12. Como Fingir
13. Te lo Digo Yo
14. Senora Tambora (con Sergio Vargas)
If you`re a true Elvis Crespo fan you will love this album. Period. He style has changed a little on this album. Some songs are reminscent of Wow!Flash! while others remind one of old school merengue like Kinito Mendez. On his current single "Bandita" Elvis features the rapper Tempo. The song goes from merengue to a cool reggae beat while Tempo does his rap and Elvis adds his flavor. This cd is definitely appropriately title. The music is more gritty--urbanized and very danceable.