• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Spain (LP) - Michel Camilo Tomatito

Titel : Spain (LP)

Artiest(en) : Michel Camilo Tomatito

Genre : Vinyl: LPs nieuw, Flamenco

Medium : Vinyl

Jaar : 02-2022

Label : Universal

€ 25,00


2022 vinyl edition of the 2000 CD release
This dynamic duo of Dominican pianist-composer Michel Camilo and Spanish flamenco guitarist Tomatito is an intricate improvisational exchange that traverses the Afro-Iberian world, from the Moorish castles of Alhambra to the azure-tinged Caribbean coasts of Havana and Santo Domingo. Camilo and Tomatito met in Spain in the early 1990s, performed together in 1997, and toured in the summer of 1999. Camilo`s florid and fleet-fingered, classically trained pianism is a beautiful counterpoint to Tomatito`s passionate, plectral poetry, which combines the precision of the great classical guitarist Andrés Segovia and the flair of Paco De Lucia. Together, they reinterpret the works of several Latin composers with vigor and vitality, including Consuelo Velazquez`s immortal bolero/cancion, "Besame Mucho," and Luis Salinas`s elegant "Aire de Tango." Camilo`s "Two Much/Love Theme" and Tomatito`s "La Vacilona" highlight the depth and breadth of their interplay. They reach their zenith on "Spain Intro," their incredible adapted Joaquin Rodrigo`s Concierto de Aranjuez, which silkily segues into the sensual Gypsy dance of Chick Corea`s "Spain." Let`s hope that these two will continue to explore the pan-Hispanic inventions and dimensions of their shared musical heritage.
A1. Spain Intro
A2. Spain
A3. Besame Mucho
A4. A Mi Nino Jose
B5. Two Much/Love Theme
B6. Para Troilo Y Salgan
B7. La Vacilona
B8. Aire De Tango