• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Mi Sueño (LP) - Ibrahim Ferrer

Titel : Mi Sueño (LP)

Artiest(en) : Ibrahim Ferrer

Genre : Vinyl: LPs nieuw, Cuba

Medium : Vinyl

Jaar : 2007

Label : World Circuit

€ 24,99


Ibrahim Ferrer`s (February 20, 1927 – August 6, 2005) last recording was Mi Sueño, an album devoted to the bolero. It was released, posthumously, in 2006. This is the 180 gram vinyl edition with download card + 12 page booklet.
1. Dos Almas
2. Si Te Contara
3. Melodia Del Rio
4. Cada Noche Un Amor
5. Deuda
6. Uno
7. Convergencia
8. Quiereme Mucho
9. Perfidia
10. Copla Guajira
11. Quizas, Quizas
12. Alma Libre

 The album’s title, Mi Sueño (My Dream), refers to Ferrer’s longtime hope to record an album of boleros. Ferrer explained, “If my days ended tomorrow I would leave very satisfied in having achieved my wish, the wish was that dream: to sing a bolero.” Ferrer added, “In the past I was never allowed to sing boleros. They used to say my voice was no good for it. Not manly enough. But thanks to Buena Vista, a path cleared ahead of me, a little bird knocked on my door and I got where I was meant to be.” Three weeks before he was to complete the final recording for Mi Sueño, Ferrer died at the age of 78. While on his deathbed, he dictated a letter asking that his dream album be finished. With the high-quality demos of the songs that would make up the rest of the album, this became possible. In the confusion following Ferrer’s death these tapes were temporarily lost, causing a delay in the album’s completion. Eventually they were located and Ferrer’s dream album was realized. Recorded in Havana, Mi Sueño features a number of Cuba’s most accomplished musicians. The core backing group consists of Roberto Fonseca (piano), Manuel Galbán (guitar), Orlando “Cachaíto” López (bass), Ramses Rodríguez (drums), and Emilio del Monte (percussion). The late Buena Vista pianist Rubén González performs on one track (“Melodía del Río”), as does singer Omara Portuondo (“Quizás, Quizás”). Ferrer is also joined by trumpet player Manuel “Guajira” Mirabal on the song “Copla Guajira.” Ferrer’s most recent World Circuit / Nonesuch release was Buenos Hermanos (2003). Produced by Ry Cooder, it was the highly anticipated follow-up to Buena Vista Social Club Presents Ibrahim Ferrer—which sold more than 1.5 million copies and topped the world music charts in countries around the world. The Grammy-nominated album won Ferrer the Best New Artist award at the inaugural Latin Grammy Awards.