• Winkelwagen

    0 item(s)

Creation of Surboum African Jazz (LP) - Joseph Kabasele

Titel : Creation of Surboum African Jazz (LP)

Artiest(en) : Joseph Kabasele

Genre : Vinyl: LPs nieuw, African

Medium : Vinyl

Jaar : 06-2021

Label : Planet Ilunga

€ 35,00


Joseph Kabasele And The Creation of Surboum African Jazz 1960-1963. This is 2021 compilation release on the wonderful Planet Ilunga label.
Le Grand Kallé et l`African Jazz, often simply referred to as African Jazz, was a popular and extremely influential Congolese rumba (soukous) band from the modern-day Democratic Republic of the Congo. Founded in 1953 in Léopoldville (modern-day Kinshasa) under Belgian colonial rule, the band was led by Joseph Kabasele Tshamala, popularly known by his stage name Le Grand Kallé. The group saw its heyday between 1958 and 1962, after which it was hit by defections by its members in 1963. It was briefly revived after 1966.
1. Mama Ndonga (
2. Satchmo Okuka Lokole (2:50)
3. Naboyi Ba Jumelle (2:30)
4. Guidado Colamano (2:44)
5. Miso Emona Makambo (2:44)
6. African Bana Ya Kin (2:35)
7. Aya-Ya (2:31)
1. Wachiwara (2:49)
2. Matata Masila Na Congo (2:51)
3. To Yokana Tolimbisana Na Congo (2:46)
4. Ma-Zo ! Dégagez (2:53)
5. Oyeme Querida (2:41)
6. Bana Ya Nwa (2:46)
7. Promenade African Jazz (2:29)
1. Kalejoph Surboum (2:45)
2. Longonia Yaya (2:48)
3. Clair De Lune (2:31)
4. Twist À Leo (2:33)
5. Pachismotou (2:48)
6. Ambiance (2:49)
7. Pasi Die Senorita (2:38)
8. Mutatshi Wa Yombo (2:45)
1. Mwamba Wa Mpatu (2:55)
2. Georgette Ye Ndeko (2:43)
3. Ba Tata Bakenda Kala (2:52)
4. Amor Perdido (2:51)
5. Luna Nukero (2:56)
6. Le Lion Est Mort (2:36)
7. Hallelouia (2:21)
Compositions by Kalle, Tono Baroza, Enrique Jorrin, Dizzy Gillespie, Manu Dibango, Nico, Rochereau, Roger Izeidi, Mujos, Henri Salvador.
Officially licensed with the Kabasele Tshamala estate
Double LP with 29 tracks
32-page large booklet in English and French
180 gram vinyl
numbered edition
Surboum African Jazz was owned and managed by the best singer of all time, Joseph Kabasele, alias Grand Kallé. The label`s catalog during the period 1960–63 is largely dominated by Grand Kallé’s band African Jazz in its various formations. The band, which could rely in 1961 and 1962 on a real dream team of musicians (Docteur Nico, Dechaud, Rochereau, Manu Dibango, Roger Izeidi and Mujos among others), released in this period at least 212 songs. The second largest source of music for the label is Franco’s band O.K. Jazz with at least 136 released songs. Next, with at least 34 released songs comes Manu Dibango with his different formations. These were the first ever published songs of the late Manu Dibango. For this compilation we chose an original selection of songs recorded by African Jazz in 1961 and 1962. We also included a few songs of Dibango’s bands in the final selection, in order to showcase the diversity and universal philosophy of Grand Kallé’s label.
This adventurous music which was recorded in Brussels (Belgium) in the months and years after Congo’s independence is nothing less than post-colonial glory wrapped around popular music. It’s a collection of proud name-dropping songs, political and patriotic lyrics, euphoric declarations of love and explorations towards new and universal impulses and styles. The releases on Surboum African Jazz are for many Congolese the icing on the cake in the iconic history of Congolese rumba. They are a time capsule of the longing of Congolese society to be absorbed in the momentum of the nations. At the same time they are a testimonial of the musical excellence of the African Jazz musicians.
The vinyl edition of this first ever double LP anthology of Surboum African Jazz comes with a large, thoroughly researched and well-illustrated 32-page booklet telling the whole story of this label. Included in the book, among other content, is a text by Alan Brain (director of The Rumba Kings) with never before published information and photos about the epic Table Ronde tour of African Jazz in Belgium, France and The Netherlands in the winter and spring of 1960. This text is the fruit of a research Alan initiated, and then further developed in collaboration with the Congolese author and scholar Manda Tchebwa. Furthermore, you can find in the book a detailed documentation of the recording tours in Brussels in 1961 and 1962, besides a discography of the Surboum African Jazz label and many testimonials of the Congolese community about the first Congolese music label founded by a Congolese.